Taste History Culinary Tours of Historic Palm Beach County, Florida | Saturday August 10 2013

Taste History Culinary Tours in Palm Beach County, Florida

The Taste History Culinary Tours of Historic Palm Beach County, Florida program is a food eating, art and history experience offered by the non-profit Museum of Lifestyle & Fashion History (MLFH) and sponsored by Macy’s. The Taste History culinary tour is a four-hour food-centric narrated bus and walking excursion (no more than six blocks of walking) through historic districts for alternate visits to eateries, markets, and an urban farm for food history, food culture facts, foodways information and food tastings. At least three to four eateries are visited per Taste History tour along with trips to historic buildings, cultural centers and art galleries. The tour partners include family-owned eateries and bakeries; and non-profit cultural centers highlighting local artists. These tours uniquely infuse with food tasting experiences the historical facts about the State of Florida, Palm Beach County and the cities of Delray Beach, Boynton Beach, Lake Worth and Town of Lantana.When the State of Florida was incorporated in 1845 it designated agriculture as the economy to develop. After Henry Flagler’s Florida East Coast Railway reached Palm Beach County, Florida in the 1890s, there was population growth. Some of those pioneer settlers were Germans and other European-Americans. Pre-dating the arrival of Flagler’s railroad and the Europeans were African Americans and black Bahamians who already had farms in Palm Beach County before the arrival of oil magnate Henry Flagler’s railroad. And before the settlement of the black population were Native American Tribes who included the Apalachee, the Timucua, Jaega and Tequesta. Each of these many cultures had their own distinct cuisine. The narration of the tour is by a live guide along with food tastings at eateries that reflects the cuisines of some of the pioneers.


Date and Time:

11:00am - 3:00pm August 10, 2013

Recurring?

Weekly

Venue

Macy's
801 N. Congress Avenue
Boynton Beach, FL 33426

Event Repeat Summary:

May 2013

Saturday, May 11, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, May 18, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, May 25, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

June 2013

Saturday, June 8, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, June 15, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, June 22, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

July 2013

Saturday, July 13, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, July 20, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, July 27, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

August 2013

Saturday, August 10, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, August 17, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, August 24, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

September 2013

Saturday, September 14, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, September 21, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, September 28, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

October 2013

Saturday, October 12, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, October 19, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, October 26, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

November 2013

Saturday, November 9, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, November 16, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, November 23, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

December 2013

Saturday, December 14, 2013 Lake Worth/Lantana

Saturday, December 21, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Saturday, December 28, 2013 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach

Contact Information:

Lori J. Durante
tour@tastehistoryculinarytours.org

Website

tastehistoryculinarytours.blogspot.com

Social Media

Event Facebook